Bonuses | Live Odds | Help Center



Date: Friday, April 29, 2016
Location: Talladega, AL
Speedway: Talladega Superspeedway
Distance: 500.08 / 804.8
Laps: 188

During the 1960s, William "Bill" France, Sr. wanted to build a track faster and longer than Daytona International Speedway. After failed attempts to reason with local government in Orange County, North Carolina with the Occoneechee Speedway, he attempted to find a new spot for a race track and make his idea a reality. After failing to secure a location near the research triangle around Raleigh, France then looked around between Atlanta and Birmingham along Interstate 20. He would end up breaking ground on an old airfield on May 23, 1968. The track was named the "Alabama International Motor Speedway". The name would remain for twenty years until 1989 when the facility's name was changed to "Talladega Superspeedway". The track opened on September 13, 1969 at a cost of $4 million. The first race at the track was unlike any other; all the original drivers abandoned the track due to tire problems, which allowed France to hire substitute drivers with the winner being Richard Brickhouse. After the first race, Talladega hosted two Cup Series races a year, one of which would become part of the 10-race Chase for the Sprint Cup. Since its opening year, Talladega has hosted many races and has been repaved four times. Talladega also has had many first-time winners, such as Larry Schild, Sr.; Richard Brickhouse, Brian Vickers, and Brad Keselowski.

A 4-mile (6.4 km) infield road course was in operation from the track's founding until 1983. In the 1970s, six IMSA GT Championship races were held at the speedway, including a 6-hour race in 1978. Talladega Superspeedway after the repaving of the track.

In May 2006, Talladega started to re-surface the track and the apron. Construction started on May 1 and lasted until September 18. The first race on the resurfaced race track was a NASCAR Craftsman Truck Series race on October 7.

In December 2013, the ISC announced removal of the 18,000-seat Allison Grandstand on the backstretch,[9] reducing the track's seating capacity to 80,000.[10] The 4,000-ft backstraightway was renamed the "Alabama Gang Superstretch" in time for the 2014 Aaron's 499 held in the spring.


2016 Nascar Geico 500 Schedule

Friday, april 29, 2016
Grandstands open at 8:00 AM 
8:30 am - 10:20: ARCA Final Practice 
10:30 am - 11:25 am: NXS Practice
12:30 pm - 1:25 pm: NXS Final Practice
1:30 pm - 2:25 pm: NSCS Practice
3:30 am - 4:25 pm: NSCS Final Practice
4:30 pm: ARCA Driver Introductions
5:00 pm:  ARCA General Tire 200 (76 Laps, 202.16 Miles)
Saturday, april 30, 2016
Grandstands open at 8:00 AM 
9:30 am: NXS Qualifying 
11:30 am: NSCS Qualifying
1:30 pm: NXS Driver Introductions
2:00 pm: NXS Sparks Energy 300 (113 Laps, 300.58 Miles)
Sunday, May 1, 2016
Grandstands open at 8:00 AM 
11:25 pm: NSCS Driver Introductions
12:00 pm: NSCS GEICO 500 (188 Laps, 500.08 Miles)

2016 Nascar Geico 500 Results

Pos Driver Team Maker Laps Points
1 Brad Keselowski Team Penske Ford 188 45
2 Kyle Busch Joe Gibbs Racing Toyota 188 40
3 Austin Dillon Richard Childress Racing Chevrolet 188 38
4 Jamie McMurray Chip Ganassi Racing Chevrolet 188 37
5 Chase Elliott Hendrick Motorsports Chevrolet 188 37

Past Winners

Year  Date  Driver  Team  Manufacturer  Race distance  Race time  Average speed
Laps  Miles (km)
2008 27-Apr Kyle Busch  Joe Gibbs Racing  Toyota  188 500.08 (804.8)  3:10:37 157.409
2009 26-Apr Brad Keselowski  Phoenix Racing  Chevrolet  188 500.08 (804.8)  3:23:20 147.565
2010*  25-Apr Kevin Harvick  Richard Childress Racing  Chevrolet  200*  532 (856.171)  3:31:58 150.59
2011*  17-Apr Jimmie Johnson (2)  Hendrick Motorsports  Chevrolet  188 500.08 (804.8)  3:12:01 156.261
2012 6-May Brad Keselowski (2)  Penske Racing  Dodge  194*  516.04 (830.485)  3:13:17 160.192
2013 5-May David Ragan  Front Row Motorsports  Ford  192*  510.72 (821.924)  3:26:02 148.729
2014 4-May Denny Hamlin  Joe Gibbs Racing  Toyota  188 500.08 (804.8)  3:17:16 152.103
2015 3-May Dale Earnhardt Jr. (3)  Hendrick Motorsports  Chevrolet  188 500.08 (804.8)  3:08:08 159.487
2016 1-May Brad Keselowski Team Penske Ford  188 500.08 (804.8)  3:34:15 140.046


To get started, simply join IslandCasino online, review our bonus page, as well as the best Nascar Sprint Cup Series live betting odds and check our motor racing sportsbook rules.