Belmont Stakes Betting Odds

Triple Crown of Thoroughbred Racing
Date: June 7th-9th, 2018
Track: Belmont Park
Location: Elmont, New York
Distance:1 1⁄2 miles (12 furlongs)
Purse: US$1.5 million

The Triple Crown of Thoroughbred Racing consists of three races for three-year-old thoroughbred horses. Winning all three of these thoroughbred horse races is considered the greatest accomplishment of a thoroughbred racehorse, the Triple Crown Belmont Stakes is the final race of the Triple Crown, it is called the "Test of the Champion".

Belmont Park Race Track is a major horse-racing facility located just outside New York City, in the adjacent Nassau County suburb of Elmont, Long Island. Its mile and one half main track is the largest dirt course in Thoroughbred racing. It first opened May 4, 1905. Most three-year-olds are unaccustomed to the distance, and lack the ability to maintain a winning speed for so long. In a long race such as the Belmont, positioning of the horse and the timing of the move to chase for the lead can be critical.

The race distance has varied: from 1867 until 1873, it was 1 5/8 miles (2.6 km). In 1874 the distance was reduced to 1 1/2 miles (2.4 km), and from 1890 to 1892, and in 1895, the distance was 1 1/4 miles (2 km). From 1896 until 1925, the distance was increased to the original 1 5/8 miles (2.6 km). In 1926, the race distance was set at the present 1 1/2 miles (2.4 km).


Track Information

Belmont Park
Main Course: 1 1/2 Miles
Last Turn to Finish on Main Track: 1,097 feet
Widener Turf Course: 1 5/16 Miles
Inner Turf Course: 1 3/16 Miles
Attendance Capacity: 85,000 - 90,000
Parking Capacity: 18,500 Cars
Trackside Dining: 2,300
Total Seating Capacity: 32,941


Belmont Stakes Purse Structure

Result Purse of $1,000,000
Winner $800,000 (62%)
Second $300,000 (20%)
Third $150,000 (10%)
Forth $75,000 (5%)
Fifth $45,000 (3%)


2017 Belmont Stakes Contenders

Trainer Dosage Jockey
Classic Empire Mark Casse 5.00 
Conquest Mo Money Miguel Hernandez 2.33 
Epicharis> Kiyoshi Hagiwara 1.20 
Gormley John Shirreffs 2.25 
Hollywood Handsome Dallas Stewart 5.67 
Irish War Cry Graham Motion 3.00 
J Boys Echo Dale Romans 4.09 
Lookin at Lee Steve Asmussen 3.40 
Meantime Brian Lynch 7.00 
Multiplier Brendan Walsh 3.67 
Patch Todd Pletcher 3.00 
Senior Investment Ken McPeek 3.00 
Tapwrit Todd Pletcher 3.00 
True Timber Kiaran McLaughlin 3.33 
Twisted Tom Chad Brown 1.13 


2017 Belmont Stakes Schedule

Thursday, June 8th
Race Distance
Astoria 5 1/2
Intercontinental 7 Furlongs
Wonder Again 1 1/8
Friday, June 9th
Bed O' Roses Invitational 7 Furlongs
Belmont Gold Cup Invitational 2 Miles
New York 1 1/4
Tremont 5 1/2
True North 6 Furlongs
Saturday, June 10th
Acorn 1 Mile
Belmont Stakes presented by NYRA Bets 1 1/2
Brooklyn Invitational 1 1/2
Easy Goer 1 1/16
Jaipur Invitational 6 Furlongs
Longines Just a Game 1 Mile
Mohegan Sun Metropolitan Handicap 1 Mile
Ogden Phipps 1 1/16
Woodford Reserve Manhattan 1 1/4
Woody Stephens 7 Furlongs

2017 Results

POS Horse Jockey Winnings
1 Tapwrit Jose Ortiz $800,000
2 Irish War Cry Rajiv Maragh $280,000
3 Patch John Velazquez $150,000
4 Gormley Victor Espinoza $100,000
5 Senior Investment Channing Hill $60,000

Past Winners

Year Winner Jockey Time
2017 Tapwrit Jose Ortiz 2:30.02
2016 Creator Irad Ortiz Jr 2:28.51
2015 American Pharoah † Víctor Espinoza 2:26.65
2014 Tonalist Joel Rosario 02:30.7
2013 Palace Malice Mike Smith 02:30.7


Belmont Stakes Winners Who Are Also Kentucky Derby Winner
1995 Thunder Gulch 1978 Affirmed (Triple Crown)
1984 Swale 1977 Seattle Slew (Triple Crown)
1976 Bold Forbes 1973 Secretariat (Triple Crown)
1972 Riva Ridge
Belmont Stakes Winners Who Are Also Preakness Stakes Winners
1994 Tabasco Cat 1978 Affirmed (Triple Crown)
1991 Hansel 1977 Seattle Slew (Triple Crown)
1988 Risen Star 1973 Secretariat (Triple Crown)
1974 Little Current
Kentucky Derby Winners Who Are Also Belmont Stakes Winners
2004 Smarty Jones 1987 Alysheba
2003 Funny Cide 1979 Spectacular Bid
2002 War Emblem 1978 Affirmed (Triple Crown)
1999 Charismatic 1977 Seattle Slew (Triple Crown)
1998 Real Quiet 1973 Secretariat (Triple Crown)
1997 Silver Charm 1971 Canonero II
1989 Sunday Silence


Kentucky Derby Preakness Stakes Belmont Stakes Breeders Cup


Bet on Belmont Stakes futures and proposition bets, too. Choose a extra Box or just bet on the Ponies straight to win. Check out our incredible Belmont Stake Bonuses too!!
Get into the Belmont stakes betting action and place a bet on one of the many horses betting options at Islandcasino.